INGRID VAN ONNA

Ingrid Van Onna

 

Amazingy.


 I met Ingrid (32) in her office in Berlin. The dutchwoman, together with her husband Floris, is the founder and owner of Amazingy.com and Mother of 2-year old Jamie. Amazingy offers handpicked organic and natural beauty products from different brands. Furthermore, a percentage of turnover is donated to charity  and a tree is planted with every order!

 

1. Why is this top your favorite from 7 Chic Avenue?

.. Because it’s super versatile; it works for any occasion, casual or chic. And I love the colors & the fabric, it’s mega comfy!

 

2. When do you wear it?

.. I love wearing it to work with a nice pair of flared jeans, or I pair it up with skinny jeans & high heels when I go out for dinner with my friends.

 

3. What is your favourite accessory?

.. Hmm, well I like necklaces. They can really finish an outfit. I love necklaces that are a bit cheeky, you know? Like.. I have a necklace in the shape of a golden gun with small stones in the handle.  It’s really small, maybe 3 cm. Guys love it and always notice it (ooh you are dangerous!). My favourite accessory though is my watch, a silver vintage Cartier Santos given by Floris for my 30th b’day. It’s an automatic and runs a bit slow, like 5 minutes a day, which is good because it reminds me to slow down.

 

4. What is your most important piece of make-up?

.. Oh no… can I please choose 3? If so… Kjaer Weis Mascara, ILIA Beauties Highlighter in Cosmic Dancer and HIRO Foundation. Those are my secret weapons after a long night of little sleep and make me look fresh in an instant, even though I might feel as if I had been run over by a truck. If I’m lazy (most of the time) I skip the foundation. If I’m really lazy, I just stay in bed and hide under the covers, although this is hard to do with a 2 year old running around the house.

 

5. What is most important to you, when you decide what to wear? / When you choose an outfit?

.. It should always be something I feel comfortable in, and it should fit the occasion. Oh and of course it needs Floris’ approval hahaha ;) No seriously, I really do value Floris’ opinion, he has a good eye for beautiful things. He’s also a great shopping companion, he loves shopping for and with me and always finds me nice stuff. He hates shopping for himself. Nice right?

6. What is your favourite item in your wardrobe?

.. Pfff that is a difficult question, I have many! But if I have to choose, then I’ll go for my black vintage Vertigo Paris blazer, which belonged to my mother in law. It has an amazing cut, with silver marine buttons. If I don’t know what to wear this is my to go to piece and it never lets me down. It works with skinny jeans, a short dress or skirt and even when I was pregnant, I wore it with sneakers and it made me feel stylish & comfy in an instant  ;)

 

7. Your biggest fashion mistake?

.. More of a styling mistake: dying my hair copper with henna.. It had the most amazing color but it didn’t suit my skin type at all! And don’t even mention how my whole wardrobe looked mismatched on me… Floris had told me upfront that I should not do it, but I had to try it. My idea was blue eyes, with copper hair…. awesome combo. Yes my eyes looked bluer than blue but it looked so unnatural with my yellow skin tone. I had to learn that the hard way and it took me two years to go back to being a blonde again.

 

8. What is the first thing you check, when you look in a mirror?

.. My hair and face, and then quickly my butt to see if I didn’t secretly gain a kilo during lunch.

 

9. What is your best styling advice?

.. Try to find out the colours that flatter you the most. So many people wear colours that make them look ill.

Next, wear something you feel comfortable in, instead of wearing something that is in fashion now. Only few people can really wear what’s hot, most look like a dressed up (theme) party girl if they do, haha. To give an example, I love vintage items, especially sweaters & blazers. But in my case I should only wear one vintage piece at the time. If I wear more than one, it starts looking funny, like I’m dressed up for a 70s or 80s party or came walking straight out of the Cosby Show. Oh, and try to find out your strongest points and never change a winning team. I rather wear something that I know looks good on me than wear something that’s hot now but doesn’t look flattering at all. Same goes again for colours. I for example love those super high-waisted jeans, but I simply have to accept that they turn my derrière into a watermelon; a big one … ;)

 

10. What top are you missing in your wardrobe?

.. The lace one, is next on my list! I would love to see that one under one of my vintage Vertigo Blazers!


Write a comment

Comments: 0

SUBSCRIBE

FOLLOW